Four Locations – 20 Years

May 1st, 2014 Posted in Fulton Campus News

DSC_8392On April 23, Cayuga CC’s Fulton Campus celebrated its 20th anniversary. The event’s organizing committee (featured in the February 2014 edition of Get Inspired) welcomed staff, faculty, special guests and dignitaries.

An introduction by Sue Witmer ’90, Fulton Campus Director of Operations and committee chair, began by reading a letter from Debbie Grimshaw, the campus’s first director. Though she was unable to attend personally due to her position of superintendent of the Canajoharie Central School District, she sent her best regards including a stroll down memory lane. Sue also recognized special guests in attendance, including Dr. Cathleen McColgin ’86, former Dean/Provost of the Fulton Campus; Fulton Mayor Ron Woodward; Oswego County Legislators Linda Lockwood, Frank Castiglia Jr., Morris Sorbello and Roy Reehil; CCC Trustee Joseph Runkle; Cayuga County Legislators Mike Didio and Keith Batman ’72, who was also the former interim director of the Fulton Center; and President Ted Herrling ’72 and Director of Alumni Affairs Louise Wilson ’72 representing the ACC/CCC Alumni Association.

Speakers included Dr. Gregory DeCinque, CCC Interim President; Honorable Michael Chapman, Chairman Cayuga County Legislature; Maggie Killoran, Associate Vice President/Dean Fulton Campus; and Terry Wilbur ’08, Majority Leader Oswego County Legislator and ACC/CCC Alumni Association board member.

Patricia McCurdy, retired Fulton English instructor and unofficial historian for the event, entertained the crowd of about 80 with 20 trivia questions. The assembled group tested their knowledge on the campus’s early beginnings, many of them surprising and humorous.

A luncheon and cake followed, offering long-time friends and colleagues a chance to reminisce and enjoy the camaraderie. A recap of Fulton’s 20 year history is being planned for the next edition of The Spartan.

Comments are closed.